Highest spot in Peninsular Malaysia

Just last weekend I’ve been to Cameron Highlands, a lovely place with a cool weather (heard it was burning back here in Singapore for those few days ^^;).

Overall it was a fun place, and especially good for relaxing and rehabilitating our stressed minds and bodies. A cool climate, fresh mountain air (away from the main town though), and a laid-back environment, it would be great as a short holiday trip for everyone. However nice the place feels, it is not exactly travel-friendly. One would need to get a vehicle ride from the resort to the main town, and certain areas tend to be a little difficult to move around in. So old folks, expecting mothers and folks with difficulty moving around should exercise caution.

Just to let you know, I stayed at the Strawberry Park Resort. A really beautiful resort, with spacious rooms luxurious enough to satisfy our creature comforts; I found my 2 nights there quite enjoyable. Except they seem to have pretty lousy water-heaters, which require you to wait for the water to be heated every 20 minutes, and their resort staff’s attitudes. Seriously I’d thought it’s because of the nature of the town; a slow-paced tourist attraction, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to explain the totally lousy attitudes of the resort staff. Be it their front desk, technicians, or restaurant staff, they seem lousy in service that I wouldn’t want to rate them 4 star. Yeah the resort was given a four-star rating.

The trip to BOH Tea Farm was awesome, despite a massive jam caused by idiots parking their cars at the wrong places. Nicknamed the green carpet of Malaysia, the tea plantations in Cameron Highlands offer nothing but the best tea in the region. I had tea there, coupled with some really great scenery of the entire stretch of the tea plantation.

Pictures speak a thousand words, so here are the pictures I’ve taken there.

Row 1: View from the Strawberry Park Resort.
Row 2: Resort Interior
Row 3, 4: Vegetable farm
Row 5, 6, 7: Flower Farm
Row 8, 9, 10: Strawberry Farm and Cactus Valley
So much strawberries everywhere it’s almost a crime. Their cactus ain’t those softies we have in Singapore, they’re real pricks.

Row 11: Flower Farm, BOH Tea Farm, Gunung Brinchang
Row 12, 13, 14: Gunung Brinchang (tallest spot in Peninsular Malaysia at 6,666 feet above sea level)
Row 15, 16: In town of Brinchang
They do have interesting stuff there like a night market, or pasar malam in Malay, which sells loads of delicious fooooood. And the Strawberry Moments cafe was disappointing. Only their strawberry milkshake was any good.

Row 17: Ramly Burger, Orang Asli settlement
Apparently the burger-man (?) was so quick with his hands the picture turned out blurrish. =P

Row 18: Orang Asli settlement, picture on the right is from BOH Tea Farm
Row 19, 20: BOH Tea Farm

Really interesting place where I learnt stuff about tea bushes I’d otherwise have never known in my life. Despite a serious 2-hour jam on their very, very narrow road, I enjoyed the trip there thoroughly. Loved the tea + scenery there.

Here’s a little background info on Cameron Highlands, from Wiki:

“The Highlands were named after William Cameron, a British colonial government surveyor who discovered the plateau during a mapping expedition in 1885. The fame of Cameron Highlands then grew during the colonial era when British planters realised the potential of its fertile mountain slopes for growing tea, then a prized commodity. The Cameron Highlands are still home to many tea plantations, being Malaysia’s largest tea-producing region. The area is also known as a major supplier of legumes and vegetables to both Malaysia and Singapore with its many farms, and is one of Malaysia’s prime tourist destinations.”

I visited Cameron Highlands with my family and my sister’s friends. Surprisingly it turns out that one of her friend’s brother is actually a friend of my project mate. In the same institution as I am as well. Talk about a small world.

Definitely will visit again in the future, as it really is a lovely place.

p.s. Just in case if there’s anyone actually looking forward to my posts on my trips to Chek Jawa, Pulau Ubin, I’ve decided to put the supposed post on indefinite hiatus until I have the time and mood to actually do it. orz

2 Responses to Highest spot in Peninsular Malaysia

  1. Zen says:

    Hahaha and I remembered to comment~! Juz before I jump to hyperspace and go set up a sith academy in england XD.

    I don’t have a camera so I doubt I’ll bring back lotsa pictures. Nor do I have lotsa money so I guess I won’t bring back lotsa stuff either. But I’ve got a mouth and I can bring back lotsa stuff to tell y’all XD. All how about I spread the influence of the dark side~

    Alright that was lame. And you should have written about what you did with the strawberries you brought back. Awesome blending recipe eh XD

  2. Leefe says:

    Oh I totally forgot about the strawberry nuke I made. Gotta make a post for the recipe then.

    Hope you enjoy England, what to buy is up to you afterall lol. Not exactly compulsory to buy back souvenirs either lol. Just please don’t bring back lol*s for j*n.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

